Благотворительный фонд помощи детям сиротам-инвалидам во имя св. Матроны Московской

St. Matrona of Moscow. The Life

Матрона МосковскаяBlissful Matrona (Matrona Dimitrievna Nikonova) was born in 1881 in the village Sebino of Epifansky district (nowadays Kimovsky area) of the Tula province. This village is located in about twenty kilometers  from the famous Kulikovo field. Her parents – Dimitry and Natalia, the peasants – were pious people,  they worked hard but lived in poverty. In their family there were four children: two brothers – Ivan and Michael, and two sisters – Maria and Matrona. Matrona was the youngest. When she was born, her parents were already elderly.

Because the Nikonovs were very poor, the fourth child was considered first of all as an extra mouth. Therefore even before the birth of the child the mother has decided to get rid of it. There could not be any speech about abortion  in a patriarchal peasant family. But there was a number of shelters where illegitimate and poor children grew up on public expense or on the means of philanthropists.

Matrona’s mother  decided to give the future child to the shelter of prince Golitsin in the nearby village Buchalki, but she got a prophetic dream. The not yet born daughter came to Natalia in her dream as a white bird with a human face and closed eyes. The bird sat down on Natalia’s right hand. Having accepted the dream as a special sign, the God-fearing woman gave up her thought of giving the child to the shelter. The daughter was born blind, but the mother loved her  unfortunate child.

The Scriptus testifies that Omniscient God sometimes chooses votaries for Himself even before their birth. So, the Lord speaks to sacred prophet Jeremiah: “Before rather than I have formed you in a belly, I have learned you, and before rather than you left a womb, I have consecrated you” (Ier. 1,5). The Lord selected Matrona for special service and from the very beginning assigned to her a heavy burden which she bore with humility and patience all her life.

At her christening the girl was called Matrona in honor of Saint Matrona of Constantinople, the Greek ascetic of the 5th century whose memory day is celebrated on November, 9th (22).

To confirm  that the girl was chosen by God spoke the fact that during christening when the priest lowered the child in a font, all the present saw a column of a fragrant light smoke over the baby. The relative of blissful Matrona  – Pavel Ivanovich Prokhorov who was present at the christening told about it. The priest, father Vasily whom parishioners esteemed as a righteous and blissful man, was extremely surprised: “I christened much, but I see something like that  for the first time, and this baby will be holy.”  

People told also about an external, corporal sign that confirmed the fact that the baby was chosen by God – on the girl’s breast  there was a cross-shaped camber, not man-made cross. Later, when she was already six years old one day her mother began to abuse her: “Why did you take off the cross from your neck?” – “Mummy, I have my own cross on my breast”, – answered the girl. “My lovely daughter, – Natalia came to her senses, – forgive me! Why am I abusing you…”

Natalia’s friend told later that when Matrona was a baby, her mother complained: “What should I do? The maid doesn’t take a breast on Wednesdays and Fridays, sleeps the whole days. It is impossible to wake her up “.

Matrona was not simply blind, she did not have eyes at all. The eye hollows were covered with densely closed eyelids, the same way as the white bird that her mother saw in the dream. But the Lord had given her the spiritual sight. Even when she was a baby at nights when the parents slept, she made the way to the sacred corner, by some incomprehensible manner removed the icons from the shelf, put them on a table and in the silence of the night played with them.

The children often teased Matronushka, even scoffed at her: girls quilted with nettle, knowing that she won’t see, who exactly offended her. They put her in a dig and observed with curiosity, how she was finding her way out of it and went home. Therefore she ceased to play with children very early and almost always was at home.

From seven – eight years old Matronushka  got the gift of  prediction and healing of ill people.

The house of the Nikonovs was  close to the  church of Assumption of Virgin Mary. The temple was beautiful, one for seven-eight neighboring villages. The parents of Matrona were known as sincerely  pious people, they liked to attend church services together. Matronushka  literally grew up in the temple, she went to the services  first with her mother, then always when she could. When her mother did not know where the daughter was, she usually found her in the church. The girl had her own favorite place – to the left, behind an entrance door, by the western wall where she stood immovable during the service. She knew very well the church chanting and often sang with choristers. It seems that already from her childhood Matrona has gained the gift of an incessant prayer.

When her mother, feeling sorry for her, told Matronushka: “You are my miserable child !” – the girl was surprised: “Am I miserable? You have Vanja miserable and Misha”. She understood that she was granted by God  much more, than the others.

Matrona got from God the gift of a spiritual thinking, insight, creation of wonders and healing from her early years. People started noticing that she knew not only human sins, crimes, but also thoughts. She felt approach of danger, foresaw catastrophes and social disasters. Upon her prayers people received healing from their illnesses and  consolation in grieves. People started visiting her. To the Nikonov’s house came people, rode carts with patients from neighboring villages, from the whole district, from the other districts and even provinces. Even bed patients  were brought  whom the girl cured. Out of gratitude to Matrona, they left products and gifts to her parents. So instead of becoming a burden for her family the girl became the main breadwinner.

Matrona’s parents liked to go to the church together. Once on a holiday Matrona’s mother got dressed and called her husband. But he  refused to go with her. He said the prayers and sang chants at home.  Matrona was also home. And her mother, while being in the church,  thought all the time of her husband: “So, he did not come”. And she worried. The liturgy  ended, Natalia came home, and Matrona said her: “You, mum, was not in the church”. – “Why? I have just come and now I am undressing!” But the girl noticed: “Well, the father was in the temple, but you was not there”. With her spiritual sight she got that her mother was in the temple only physically.

Once Matrona said to her mother: “Mum, get prepared, soon there will be my wedding”. The mother  told it to the priest, who came and gave communion to the girl (he always gave her communion at home when she wanted). After a few days suddenly a great number of  vehicles approached the house of the Nikonovs, many people came with their troubles and sorrows, patients were brought, and everybody asked for Matronushka. She said prayers over them and cured  many people. The mother asked her: “Matrjushenka, what is this?” And she answered: “I told you that there will be a wedding”.

Ksenia Sifarova, the relative of the brother of blissful Matrona,  told, that once Matrona had told her mother: “I will go now, and tomorrow there will be a fire, but your house won’t burn down”. And really, the next morning the fire started, almost the whole village was burned down, then the wind changed and the house of her mother remained impact.

In adolescence she got possibility to travel. The daughter of a local landowner, pious and kind maiden Lydia Jankova, took Matrona with her in pilgrimage to Kievo-Pecherskaya Lavra in Kiev, to Troitse-Sergieva Lavra in St. Petersburg and to the other cities and holy places of Russia. There is a legend about a meeting of Matronushka and sacred Johan Kronshtadtsky. According to the legend when a church service in the Andreevsky cathedral in Kronstadt was over he asked people to make the road for the 14-year-old Matrona who went to solea and then he said: “Matronushka, come, come to me. Here comes my change – the eighth pillar of Russia”. Matrona never explained the meaning of these words to anybody, but the folks realized that father Johan foresaw her special meaning for Russia and for the Russian people at the time of persecution of the Church.

Not much time passed. When Matrona was seventeen she lost ability to walk: her legs were suddenly paralyzed. Matronushka specified  a spiritual reason of illness. She walked in a temple after communion and  knew that a woman would approach her who would take away her ability to walk. And that was how it happened. “I didn’t avoid it, it was the will of God”. So till the end of her days she was “sedentary”.

In 1925 Matrona left to Moscow that became a place of her sincere service and pious death. Pursued by atheists,  Matrona was forced constantly to change places of living, but she always found a shelter in the houses of Christians. The great number of people came to Matrona, looking for spiritual and prayer help, for admonition.

“Mother Matrona had all her life struggled for each soul coming to her, – Zynaida Zhdanova remembers, — and she always succeeded. She never complained. The lights glimmered in her house before the icons, the love of Mother Matrona and her silence shrouded the souls. In the house there were sanctity,  joy, peace, caring warmth.

How did those who knew Matronar remembered her? A woman with tiny, like children’s, short hands and feet sitting with crossed legs on a bed or a chest. Fluffy hair were put apart in the middle. Eyelids were closed. Her face reflected her pure soul. She had a tender voice.

She consoled, comforted those who were ill, stroked them on the head, blessed them with the sign of the Holy cross, sometimes joked, sometimes convicted and edified. She was not strict, she was tolerant to human weaknesses, compassionate, warm,  sympathizing and always joyful, she never complained about her illnesses and sufferings. Mother Matrona did not preach or taught. She gave concrete advices how to act in this or that situation, prayed and blessed. Those who suffered from physical and mental illnesses were cured upon her prayers. Her prophecies and  predictions  helped many people to avoid danger and  destruction, to find a right way in difficult circumstances. Up to now people remember these wonderful events.

Before her death blissful Matrona predicted: “After my death not many people will come to my grave, only relatives. And when they also die, my grave will be almost forgotten, unless someone will occasionally come. But in many years people will learn about me and crowds will come asking for help in their sorrows, asking to pray for them to the Lord, and I will hear everyone and I will help everyone”.

She did not allow to bring wreaths and plastic flowers on her funeral.

Till her last days she confessed and the coming priests gave her communion. Just  as all the other usual people she was afraid of death and did not hide her fear from those who were near. Before her death the priest, father Dimitry  came to confess her, she was very much worried, whether she has laid her hands correct. The priest asked: “Are you also afraid of death?” – “Yes”.

She died in May,2, 1952.

After her death, a lot of people came to the tomb of blissful Matrona on the Danilovsky cemetery. Honoring of the died woman grew, miracles and healings happened there.

Upon the order of Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia Alexey  blissful Matrona of Moscow (Nikonova Matron Dmitrievna. 1881 – 1952) was canonized as local saint  on May, 2nd, 1999.

Now the holy remains of the blissful woman, honored by believers as sacred hallows, rest in the Saint-Pokrovsky nunnery in Moscow where never-ending stream of people goes asking for help exactly the same way as when she was alive.

 

The shrine with remains of St. Matrona of Moscow in Saint-Pokrovsky nunnery

In October, 2004 by definition of the Consecrated Arhierejsky Council of the Russian Orthodox Church  Saint blissful Matrona of Moscow has been ranked as a whole church saint and included in Mesjatseslov of the Russian Orthodox Church.

A memory day of Saint blissful Matrona of Moscow is  on April, 19th (on May, 2nd new style).

The source of the information: the official site of Saint-Pokrovsky nunnery (Moscow)

Матрона Московская



Комментарии: 0

Оставить комментарий

Ваш email не будет опубликован.

Благотворительный фонд помощи детям сиротам-инвалидам во имя св. Матроны Московской

Житие св. Матроны Московской

Святая блаженная Матрона Московская. Житие.

Матрона Московская

Родилась блаженная Матрона (Матрона Димитриевна Никонова) в 1881 году в селе Себино Епифанского уезда (ныне Кимовского района) Тульской губернии. Село это расположено километрах в двадцати от знаменитого Куликова поля. Родители ее — Димитрий и Наталия, крестьяне — были людьми благочестивыми, честно трудились, жили бедно. В семье было четверо детей: двое братьев — Иван и Михаил, и две сестры — Мария и Матрона. Матрона была младшей. Когда она родилась, родители ее были уже немолоды.

При той нужде, в которой жили Никоновы, четвертый ребенок мог стать прежде всего лишним ртом. Поэтому из-за бедности еще до рождения последнего ребенка мать решила избавиться от него. Об убийстве младенца во чреве матери в патриархальной крестьянской семье не могло быть и речи. Зато существовало множество приютов, где незаконнорожденные и необеспеченные дети воспитывались за казенный счет или на средства благотворителей.

Мать Матроны решила отдать будущего ребенка в приют князя Голицина в соседнее село Бучалки, но увидела вещий сон. Еще не родившаяся дочь явилась Наталии во сне в виде белой птицы с человеческим лицом и закрытыми глазами и села ей на правую руку. Приняв сон за знамение, богобоязненная женщина отказалась от мысли отдать ребенка в приют. Дочь родилась слепой, но мать любила свое дитя несчастное.

Священное Писание свидетельствует, что Всеведущий Бог иногда предъизбирает Себе служителей еще до их рождения. Так, Господь говорит святому пророку Иеремии: «Прежде нежели Я образовал тебя во чреве, Я познал тебя, и прежде нежели ты вышел из утробы, Я освятил тебя» (Иер. 1,5). Господь, избрав Матрону для особого служения, с самого начала возложил на нее тяжелый крест, который она с покорностью и терпением несла всю жизнь.

При крещении девочка была названа Матроной в честь преподобной Матроны Константинопольской, греческой подвижницы 5 века, память которой празднуется 9 (22) ноября.

О богоизбранности девочки свидетельствовало то, что при крещении, когда священник, опустил дитя в купель, присутствующие увидели над младенцем столб благоухающего легкого дыма. Об этом поведал родственник блаженной Павел Иванович Прохоров, присутствовавший при крещении. Священник, отец Василий, которого прихожане почитали как праведника и блаженного, был несказанно удивлен: «Я много крестил, но такое вижу в первый раз, и этот младенец будет свят.

Рассказывают и о внешнем, телесном знаке богоизбранности младенца — на груди девочки была выпуклость в форме креста, нерукотворный нательный крестик. Позже, когда ей было уже лет шесть, мать как-то стала ругать ее: «Зачем ты крестик с себя снимаешь?» — «Мамочка, у меня свой крестик на груди», — отвечала девочка. «Милая дочка, — опомнилась Наталия, — прости меня! А я-то все тебя ругаю…».

Подруга Наталии позже рассказывала, что, когда Матрона была еще младенцем, мать жаловалась: «Что мне делать? Девка грудь не берет в среду и пятницу, спит в эти дни сутками, разбудить ее невозможно».

Матрона была не просто слепая, у нее совсем не было глаз. Глазные впадины закрывались плотно сомкнутыми веками, как у той белой птицы, что видела ее мать во сне. Но Господь дал ей духовное зрение. Еще в младенчестве по ночам, когда родители спали, она пробиралась в святой угол, каким-то непостижимым образом снимала с полки иконы, клала их на стол и в ночной тишине играла с ними.

Матронушку часто дразнили дети, даже издевались над нею: девочки стегали крапивой, зная, что она не увидит, кто именно ее обижает. Они сажали ее в яму и с любопытством наблюдали, как она наощупь выбиралась оттуда и брела домой. Поэтому она рано перестала играть с детьми и почти всегда сидела дома.

С семи- восьмилетнего возраста у Матронушки открылся дар предсказания и исцеления больных.

Дом Никоновых находился поблизости от церкви Успения Божией Матери. Храм красивый, один на семь-восемь окрестных деревень. Родители Матроны отличались глубоким благочестием и любили вместе бывать на богослужениях. Матронушка буквально выросла в храме, ходила на службы сначала с матерью, потом одна, при всякой возможности. Не зная, где дочка, мать обычно находила ее в церкви. У нее было свое привычное место — слева, за входной дверью, у западной стены, где она неподвижно стояла во время службы. Она хорошо знала церковные песнопения и часто подпевала певчим. Видимо, еще в детстве Матрона стяжала дар непрестанной молитвы.

Когда мать, жалея ее, говорила Матронушке: «Дитя ты мое несчастное!» — она удивлялась: «Я-то несчастная? У тебя Ваня несчастный да Миша». Она понимала, что ей дано от Бога гораздо больше, чем другим.

Даром духовного рассуждения, прозорливости, чудотворения и исцеления Матрона была отмечена Богом с ранних пор. Близкие стали замечать, что ей ведомы не только человеческие грехи, преступления, но и мысли. Она чувствовала приближение опасности, предвидела стихийные и общественные бедствия. По ее молитве люди получали исцеление от болезней и утешение в скорбях. К ней стали ходить и ездить посетители. К избе Никоновых шли люди, тянулись подводы, телеги с больными из окрестных сел и деревень, со всего уезда, из других уездов и даже губерний. Привозили лежачих больных, которых девочка поднимала на ноги. Желая отблагодарить Матрону, они оставляли ее родителям продукты и подарки. Так девочка, вместо того чтобы стать обузой для семьи, стала ее главной кормилицей.

Родители Матроны любили ходить в храм вместе. Однажды в праздник мать Матроны одевается и зовет с собой мужа. Но он отказался и не пошел. Дома он читал молитвы, пел, Матрона тоже была дома. Мать же, находясь в храме, все думала о своем муже: «Вот, не пошел». И все волновалась. Литургия закончилась, Наталия пришла домой, а Матрона ей говорит: «Ты, мама, в храме не была». «Как не была? Я только что пришла и вот раздеваюсь!» А девочка замечает: «Вот отец был в храме, а тебя там не было». Духовным зрением она видела, что мать находилась в храме только телесно.

Однажды Матрона говорит матери: «Мама, готовься, у меня скоро будет свадьба». Мать рассказала священнику, тот пришел, причастил девочку (он всегда причащал ее на дому по ее желанию). И вдруг через несколько дней едут и едут повозки к дому Никоновых, идут люди со своими бедами и горестями, везут больных, и все почему-то спрашивают Матронушку. Она читала над ними молитвы и очень многих исцеляла. Мать ее спрашивает: «Матрюшенька, да что же это такое?» А она отвечает: «Я же тебе говорила, что будет свадьба».

Ксения Ивановна Сифарова, родственница брата блаженной Матроны рассказывала, как однажды Матрона сказала матери: «Я сейчас уйду, а завтра будет пожар, но ты не сгоришь». И действительно, утром начался пожар, чуть ли не вся деревня сгорела, затем ветер перекинул огонь на другую сторону деревни, и дом матери остался цел.

В отрочестве ей представилась возможность попутешествовать. Дочь местного помещика, благочестивая и добрая девица Лидия Янькова, брала Матрону с собой в паломничества: в Киево-Печерскую лавру, Троице-Сергиеву лавру, в Петербург, другие города и святые места России. До нас дошло предание о встрече Матронушки со святым праведным Иоанном Кронштадтским, который по окончании службы в Андреевском соборе Кронштадта попросил народ расступиться перед подходящей к солее 14-летней Матроной и во всеуслышание сказал: «Матронушка, иди-иди ко мне. Вот идет моя смена — восьмой столп России». Значения этих слов матушка никому не объяснила, но ее близкие догадывались, что отец Иоанн провидел особое служение Матронушки России и русскому народу во времена гонений на Церковь.

Прошло немного времени, и на семнадцатом году жизни Матрона лишилась возможности ходить: у нее внезапно отнялись ноги. Сама Матронушка указывала на духовную причину болезни. Она шла по храму после причастия и знала, что к ней подойдет женщина, которая отнимет у нее способность ходить. Так и случилось. «Я не избегала этого — такова была воля Божия». До конца дней своих она была «сидячей».

В 1925 году Матрона уезжает в Москву, ставшую местом ее подвижнического служения и праведной кончины. Преследуемая безбожниками, Матрона была вынуждена постоянно менять место жительства, находя приют в домах верующих. Нескончаемым потоком шли к Матронушке люди, жаждавшие духовного врачевания, наставления, молитвенной помощи.

“Матушка Матрона всю жизнь боролась за каждую приходящую к ней душу, — вспоминает Зинаида Жданова, — и одерживала победу. Она никогда не сетовала, не жаловалась на трудности своего подвига. В доме перед образами теплились лампады, любовь матушки и ее тишина окутывали душу. В доме были святость, радость, покой, благодатное тепло. Какой запомнилась Матрона близким людям? С миниатюрными, словно детскими, короткими ручками и ножками. Сидящей, скрестив ножки, на кровати или сундуке. Пушистые волосы на прямой пробор. Крепко сомкнутые веки. Доброе светлое лицо. Ласковый голос.

Она утешала, успокаивала болящих, гладила их по голове, осеняла крестным знамением, иногда шутила, порой строго обличала и наставляла. Она не была строгой, была терпима к человеческим немощам, сострадательна, тепла, участлива, всегда радостна, никогда не жаловалась на свои болезни и страдания. Матушка не проповедовала, не учительствовала. Давала конкретный совет, как поступить в той или иной ситуации, молилась и благословляла. По ее молитвам совершались исцеления немощных, расслабленных, страждущих от болезней душевных и телесных. Ее пророчества и предсказания помогли многим людям избежать опасности и гибели, найти верный путь в непростых обстоятельствах. До наших дней сохранились многочисленные свидетельства об этих чудесных событиях.

Перед своей кончиной блаженная Матрона предсказывала: «После моей смерти на могилку мою мало будет ходить людей, только близкие, а когда и они умрут, запустеет моя могилка, разве изредка кто придет. Но через много лет люди узнают про меня и пойдут толпами за помощью в своих горестях и с просьбами помолиться за них ко Господу Богу, и я всем буду помогать и всех услышу».

Она не велела приносить на похороны венки и пластмассовые цветы. До последних дней жизни она исповедовалась и причащалась у приходивших к ней священников. По своему смирению она, как и обыкновенные грешные люди, боялась смерти и не скрывала от близких своего страха. Перед смертью пришел ее исповедовать священник, отец Димитрий, она очень волновалась, правильно ли сложила ручки. Батюшка с прашивает: “Да неужели и вы боитесь смерти?” “Боюсь”. 2 мая 1952 года она почила.

После ее праведной кончины, к могиле праведной Матроны на Даниловском кладбище приходило множество людей, почитание почившей росло, совершались чудеса и исцеления.

Определением Патриарха Московского и Всея Руси Алексия блаженная Матрона Московская (Никонова Матрона Дмитриевна. 1881 – 1952) канонизирована в лике местночтимых святых 2 мая 1999 года.

Теперь честные останки блаженной, почитаемые верующими как святые мощи, почивают в Свято-Покровском женском монастыре в Москве, куда за помощью к этой подвижнице, как и при ее земной жизни, идут нескончаемым потоком люди.

В октябре 2004 г. по определению Освященного Архиерейского Собора Русской Православной Церкви святая праведная блаженная Матрона Московская была причислена к лику общецерковных святых и включена в Месяцеслов Русской Православной Церкви.

День памяти святой блаженной Матроны 19 апреля (2 мая н.ст.).

Источник: Официальная страница Свято-Покровского женского Ставропигиального монастыря (г. Москва)

Матрона Московская



Комментарии: 0

Оставить комментарий

Ваш email не будет опубликован.